My path to excellence

Hello, I’m the account executive of the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism ImPRessions account. I’m currently finishing my junior year at Ohio University as a public relations major within the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism. First and foremost, I am a student. I am also a dues-paying member of the Public Relations Student Society of America (which I was recently voted to be on the 2011-2012 executive board as the VP of internal relations) and an active member in University Program Council. Additionally, I work in the Front of House as an usher at the Templeton-Blackburn Alumni Memorial Auditorium and I work for Undergraduate Admissions as an online and print communications writer in the Program to Aid Career Exploration (PACE) program. I’ll also be interning for the Ohio State Fair this summer as a PR and marketing intern.

My list of activities is regular with most Scripps students. But my story is a little different than most overachieving Scripps students.

I graduated Black River High School in 2008 as a highly involved student with a good GPA but I have never been a good test taker and I did not do well on the ACT. My lower ACT score is what leads me to believe is the reason why I didn’t get accepted to the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism as an incoming freshman.

But it was a blessing in disguise.

Because I was in University College, I was required to join a learning community. My LC was a group of about 20 students who either had NO idea what they wanted to do or they had some clue. Even though I had an idea of wanting to study journalism, I was lucky to be able to explore my options…there are over 250 majors here! I decided what would help me most decide what to earn my degree in was joining organizations. So I did. And after attending a few meetings I knew that I didn’t want to study education…plant biology…photography…but as I attended an ImPRessions meeting I knew that I fit in with PR.

I jumped in with the organization and I talked to various professors and academic advisors. I took the general education requirements that fit not only OU but also for the journalism school, as well as journalism classes. I started to build my resume and get pieces together to add to my portfolio so I could impress the journalism schools’ board that would decide if I was the right fit for them. As I started my sophomore year, I was elected on the ImPRessions executive board and was an AE for College Book Store and continued being a member for PRSSA and UPC. As I met journalism students I realized I was ahead of the game and more involved than some of them…I had even taken more journalism classes then some of them!

After applying to the journalism school during my sophomore year – I was accepted!

The process of applying to the journalism school was simple and their website made it clear. I even went above and beyond by writing a cover letter, adding my resume, having more than the recommended journalism works/pieces, and awards that I won in my journalism organizations.

Unlike Bri, I love the competitiveness within the walls of Scripps Hall. I know that after I graduate, I will have the solid education and experience any employer is looking for in a young professional. I have contacts with students, professors, current professionals and alumni. It’s all about your network and the Bobcat network stretches from coast-to-cost and country-to-country.

I love everything about Athens, Ohio University and the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism. There are an overwhelming amount of opportunities available for students and everything is here to prepare students for their future.

To many of our readers, you’re scared to choose the right college and go away for at least four years. Me? I’m scared to graduate next June and enter “the real world.” But regardless of my fear, I know that I am going to be prepared for any challenges I’m faced with because of the education I’ve been receiving here.

So, if you didn’t get accepted into the journalism school..it’s okay! There’s still a chance to get in. Or maybe you’ll realize your passion for another area.

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions about transferring into the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism or Ohio University in general!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

